MFP elects Chaithawat Tulathon as leader amid Pita MP status uncertainty

Previously the secretary general of the Move Forward Party (MFP), Chaithawat Tulathon was elected as the model new chief, succeeding Pita Limjaroenrat. Pita resigned amid ongoing uncertainty regarding his Member of Parliament status. Chaithawat, however, indicated this can be a brief lived measure, as he and the model new executive committee members are prepared to step aside, ought to Pita have the power to resume his MP duties.
The 45 year outdated, Chaithawat environmental engineering graduate from Chulalongkorn University, received overwhelming help in the vote, garnering 330 votes in favour, with a mere 5 votes in opposition to and three abstentions. Snap includes being one of the core founders, along with Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit and others, of the Future Forward Party. This reform-minded party made a significant influence in the 2019 election earlier than being dissolved a yr later as a end result of legal complications.
The MFP, the successor to the Future Forward Party, saw great success in the May 14 General Election beneath Pita’s leadership, securing the highest variety of seats. Despite this, the get together was prevented from forming a coalition authorities because of staunch opposition to its proposal to reform Section 112 of the Criminal Code, the royal defamation legislation. Consequently, it turned the primary party in the opposition bloc.
The forty three 12 months outdated Pita’s resignation in mid-September came as he was unable to assume the role of opposition leader because of his suspension. The suspension was imposed by the Constitutional Court in July, pending an investigation into potential election rule violations. The problem under scrutiny is whether or not Pita knowingly ran for office whereas potentially disqualified as a outcome of holding shares in a media firm.
In addition to the management change, the get together also elected a brand new govt on the basic assembly. Apichart Sirisunthon succeeds Chaithawat as secretary-general, while Pita is now the chairman of a brand new three-member advisory group. The group additionally consists of Weerayuth Kanchuchat, a member of the party’s economic staff, and Detcharat Sukkamnerd, director of the Think Forward Center.
Deputy MFP party leaders have been named as Phicharn Chaowapattanawong, Nattawut Buaprathum, Supisan Phakdeenarunat and Sirikanya Tansakul, with Parit Watcharasindhu, a nephew of former prime minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, being named as get together spokesman.
The MFP, regardless of the leadership change, continues to face potential dissolution. The charter courtroom is currently deliberating on whether or not the party’s stance on Section 112 is in violation of the Constitution, Bangkok Post reported.
Follow more of The Thaiger’s latest tales on our new Facebook page HERE..

Leave a Comment